Facebook Stole Your Friends

Along with the changes to our fan pages there were also a few changes that took place on our own profile pages that annoy me. I had been noticing lately that I was seeing status updates from the same group of people each and every time I logged into my personal account. I thought it was odd but really didn’t think about it. Then I saw the following information and it all made sense.

The newsfeed on your home page has a setting that by default is automatically set to show ONLY posts from people who you’ve recently interacted with or interact with the most (which would be limited to the couple of weeks just before people started switching to the new profile). So in other words unless your FB friends commented on one of your posts within those few weeks or vice versa, you are now invisible to them and they are invisible to you!! 

Why on earth would Facebook do this? It makes less then no sense when if we are really bothered by someone but for appearance purposes want to keep them as a friend we can hide their feed so we don’t see every time they blow their nose or buy a new expensive toy or scroll through their profanity. There are people who status updates I don’t interact with whether because that post doesn’t grab my attention or because we really haven’t seen or spoken to each other since Elementary school it doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t want to comment and say congratulations if they got engaged or had a baby. What if I had a big announcement to make and then no one saw it because of this change? I know I would be pretty confused.

This default setting is also the cause of why one day you might have had 200 visitors to your Facebook fan page and the next day only had 30.

HERE’S THE FIX: Scroll down to the bottom of the newsfeed on the homepage and click on “Edit Options.” Click on “Show Posts From” and change the setting to “All Of Your Friends and Pages.” 

Simply posting a status update about it won’t do much good because many of your friends already can’t see your posts though the ones who can will automatically have a light go off in their head and say yes this happened to me and now I will do something about it. If we all spread the word and each tell one person who tells one person we can help our friends have the information to make the decision on their own.

We can take our friends back from Facebook so they aren’t stolen any longer.

Comments

  1. mine was set to show all by default…

  2. I didn't know this so I really appreciate this info. Thanks much for sharing and giving us the “fix”

  3. I didn't know that it had done this, so thanks for the heads up. I want to see statuses from everyone!

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge

Copyright © 2014 · Two Little Cavaliers · All Rights Reserved · Design By RL Web Designs